It’s that time of the year again! Are you a PIANC Young Professional under the age of 40, doing original technical work? Have you already presented a paper at a PIANC or related conference or are preparing to do so? Take your chance and apply for the PIANC De Paepe-Willems Award 2024!

Applicants are required to submit a paper on subjects in the fields of design, construction, improvement, maintenance of operation of inland and maritime waterways (rivers, estuaries, canals, port approaches), of inland and maritime ports and of coastal areas. 

Judges’ Criteria are:

Criterion 1: Value and interest of the paper to professional peers

Criterion 2: Significance of the paper’s contribution to the state-of-practice

Criterion 3: The originality of the material

Criterion 4: Whether the writing style is clear, logical, concise and easy to follow

More information is here.

Please share this message with the YP’s in your network!

Applications are now open. The deadline for sending in abstracts for the PIANC De Paepe-Willems Award (PIANC DPWA) 2024 has been extended this year to 15 September 2023.

Full papers are expected at the latest by 15 October 2023.*

Our region has been very successful in the last few years, in 2020 Ben Popovich in New Zealand was awarded the prize and the 2022 winner was PIANC NSW’s Libby Freeman, so it’s time to do it again in 2024. (List of previous winners is here.)

If you want help from the Board to review your paper before submitting, please contact before 31 August.

The Award consists of 3 prizes:

Number 1: € 4,000

  • Plus Free membership of PIANC for a 3-year period.
  • Free hotel accommodation for 3 nights will be provided, as well as a payment of travel expenses in economy class to the AGA.

The winner will be invited to present his/her paper at the Annual General Assembly (AGA) of PIANC (on the condition, of course, that there will be no more travel restrictions due to the Covid-19 virus). 
Number 2:  € 2,000

  • Plus Free membership of PIANC for a 1-year period.

Number 3: € 1,000

  • Plus Free membership of PIANC for a 1-year period 

The Award will be granted to those candidates who submit the most outstanding paper selected by the jury in the calendar year preceding the General Assembly at which the Award is granted.

In case of co-authorship, the Award will be granted to the principal author of the paper.

Apply now!

*This story has been amended on 3 October. Originally it said full submissions in by 31 October. That was incorrect. Full submissions are required by 15 October 2023.


Share this post