The PIANC ANZ Young Authors Award has traditionally been awarded at the Coasts and Ports Conferences since 1988 for the best paper presented that pass the eligibility criteria.

This yearly prize is being given in honour of Professor Gustave Willems, President of PIANC from 1956 until his death in 1982. As the PIANC President for seventeen years, Robert De Paepe fostered the international spirit and the professional development of PIANC. In 2002, it was decided to merge the ‘Foundation Robert De Paepe’ with the Gustave Willems Award. As from 2003, the former Gustave Willems Award has been known as the ‘PIANC De Paepe-Willems Award’.

In recognition of the impressive work by our members, five major PIANC awards were presented at the APAC2020 Conference, and will be continued as part of the ongoing APAC Conference series.